Drug Handouts.

At 22, I’ve become extremely new to BP2, the mirtazapine that had been prescribed to help with my anxiety led to feelings of dissociation/hysteria and sent me into a hypomanic state which I’m still trying to understand. There are a lot of doctors who seem completely indifferent when handing out prescriptions for antidepressants. When did psychopharmacology become handouts? This type of medicated self-indulgence is trial and error, with a lot of the medication eliciting negative side effects. The understanding of psychopharmacology is so limited that people with bipolar disorder are more likely to experience more adverse side effects than the actual disorder.

2 thoughts on “Drug Handouts.”

  1. Totally understood! I tried a dozen different medications last year after being diagnosed with BP2 in January 2014. Sometimes the side effects were worse that the symptoms of the disorder itself! I finally found a combination of meds that works for me. I hope you do, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment