Epilim Killed The Sex-Drive.

My emotions have hit a mental wall. Am I meant to feel this way; the mental exhaustion is wearing thin. In the past few weeks I’ve become aware that the mood stabilizer I’m taking has killed my sex drive (libido). I don’t think I’m depressed, I just don’t seem to care either, not dispassionate, just lacking both my highs and lows, I’m not unmotivated but I’m not my usual perky self. The medication hasn’t affected my ability, but I’m not seeking anything either. I’ve looked at other reports of Epilim killing sex drives; guess it’s not only me.

turn-more-flirting-ecard-someecards

Feels like I’ve been stabilized emotionally, but I’ve been stabilized in a mild depressive state. Epilim allows me to be less anxious and I also believe it made me cycle out of hypomania. This feeling of mild depression makes me less functional, for the first time in weeks I actually had an afternoon nap. The first weeks of taking 500mg to start off with had a lot of nausea, currently at the end of week two of taking Epilim and at a 1000mg dose the nausea seems to have abated. I’m hoping that my functionality towards tasks will increase again; I don’t want to let myself get bogged down. I’m not sexually promiscuous, but I can be a bit demanding, having that part of me missing is extremely bizarre and foreign. Epilim is a good mood stabilizer but I would like the small depressive symptoms to abate.

4 thoughts on “Epilim Killed The Sex-Drive.”

  1. Hey, can def sympathize here! Blunted emotions is no fun!!! And you are right that its not like a heavy depression as much as you seem to be stuck in an all-encompassing apathetic state that simply doesn’t abate. Everything is just “blah” and non-interesting. Please be aware that this might get better but might not and if you are at all like me living an emotionless life is not really even living at all – so not worth the sacrifice. Emotions is what makes us human after all! Hang in there kid and I am here to talk if you so desire. Be well!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment